Yes, you can carry a power bank on a plane, in the cabin and never in checked baggage. Whether you can use it is a separate question. Since 27 March 2026 the international rules limit you to two power banks and forbid recharging them on board, and they recommend against using one to charge your phone. Singapore Airlines, Qantas, Cathay Pacific and Emirates have turned that recommendation into a ban. US domestic rules have not.
What changed on 27 March 2026?#
The rules airlines follow for dangerous goods come from the ICAO Technical Instructions for the Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air, Doc 9284. On 27 March 2026 the ICAO Council approved an amendment to the 2025-2026 edition. According to ICAO's electronic bulletin of 7 April 2026, it:
- "prohibits the recharging of power banks while on board aircraft";
- "limits the number of power banks that can be carried by each person to no more than two"; and
- "recommends against using power banks to recharge portable electronic devices while on board aircraft".
The amendment sits in Addendum No. 1, "which became applicable on 27 March 2026". The bulletin says the decision followed discussion at the 42nd ICAO Assembly "on the need to manage increasing fire risks associated with lithium batteries in aircraft cabins". Crew are not exempt for their own power banks, only for ones carried "to fulfil operational requirements".
What did not change is the older layer underneath. Power banks were already cabin-only, already limited to 100 Wh without approval and 160 Wh with it, and IATA already defined them as spare batteries: "Articles containing lithium cells or batteries, the primary purpose of which is to provide power to another device, e.g. power banks, are considered as spare batteries and are restricted to carry-on baggage only."
Why two answers circulate#
Search this question and you get "power banks are banned on planes" and "you can still use a power bank on a plane". Both are repeated confidently, and both are true on some flights. The confusion comes from three different things that all get called "charging":
- Recharging the power bank itself from a seat socket or USB port. ICAO now prohibits this outright.
- Using the power bank to charge your phone. ICAO recommends against it but does not prohibit it. This is the line airlines have drawn in different places.
- Charging your phone from the seat's own power. Neither rule touches this. Cathay Pacific, which bans both of the above, says passengers "may continue to use the in-seat power provided at every seat".
So "banned" is accurate on Singapore Airlines, Qantas, Cathay Pacific and Emirates, where the airline has made item 2 a rule. "Allowed" is accurate on a US domestic flight, where the FAA's passenger page, last updated 11 August 2026, says nothing about using a power bank in flight and sets no quantity limit for batteries up to 100 Wh. The FAA does add that "many airlines, both domestic and international, may have stricter quantity and Wh limits". The answer for your trip is the strictest rule of the airline operating each leg, which is the same logic as flying with a camping stove.
The rules side by side#
Each row is taken from the authority's or airline's own page where that page answered, and from a dated news report where it did not.
| Authority or airline | How many power banks | Capacity | Use it to charge a device in flight | Recharge the bank on board | Where it must be |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ICAO Technical Instructions (international) | No more than two | 100 Wh, or 160 Wh with approval | Recommended against | Prohibited | Cabin |
| FAA and TSA (US domestic) | No limit up to 100 Wh; two of 101 to 160 Wh with approval | 100 Wh, or 160 Wh with approval | Not addressed | Not addressed | Cabin; out of any gate-checked bag |
| Singapore Airlines | Maximum two | 100 Wh, or 160 Wh with approval and UN 38.3 proof | Not allowed | Not allowed | Seat pocket or under the seat, not overhead |
| Qantas | Two per person | Each not exceeding 160 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed, "including via in-seat USB ports" | Within reach, seat pocket or under the seat |
| Cathay Pacific | Maximum two | Not stated on the power bank section | Prohibited "under Hong Kong law" | Prohibited from in-seat power | Under the seat in front, not overhead |
| Emirates (from 1 October 2025) | One | Under 100 Wh | Not allowed | Not allowed | Seat pocket or under the seat, not overhead |
| Southwest (from 28 May 2025) | Not stated in the report | Not stated in the report | Allowed, out of any bag "in plain sight" | Not stated in the report | Not in a bag or overhead bin while in use |
Two things stand out. Every Asian, Australian and Gulf carrier here goes further than ICAO by banning use as well as recharging, and three of them also keep power banks out of the overhead bin, which no regulator page here requires. And Emirates is the outlier on count: one bank, where ICAO allows two.
These rules have moved several times in eighteen months. Treat the table as a starting point and read the operating airline's page in the week you fly.
Which band is your power bank in?#
Everything above runs on watt-hours, and most power banks are sold in milliamp-hours. The FAA's conversion is voltage times amp-hours. Most banks are rated at the 3.7 volt cell level, so watt-hours equal milliamp-hours times 3.7, divided by 1,000, as our power bank sizing guide uses throughout.
| Marked capacity | Watt-hours at 3.7 V | Band | What it needs |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5,000 mAh | 18.5 Wh | Up to 100 Wh | Nothing beyond the count and cabin rules |
| 10,000 mAh | 37.0 Wh | Up to 100 Wh | Nothing beyond the count and cabin rules |
| 20,000 mAh | 74.0 Wh | Up to 100 Wh | Nothing beyond the count and cabin rules |
| 26,800 mAh | 99.2 Wh | Up to 100 Wh | Nothing, but only just |
| 30,000 mAh | 111.0 Wh | 100 to 160 Wh | Airline approval, two at most; Emirates will not take it |
| 40,000 mAh | 148.0 Wh | 100 to 160 Wh | Airline approval, two at most |
| 50,000 mAh | 185.0 Wh | Over 160 Wh | Not as passenger baggage; IATA: cargo only |
| 1,070 Wh power station | 1,070 Wh | Over 160 Wh | Not as passenger baggage |
The voltage matters at the margin. If a label rates its cells at 3.85 V instead, 26,800 mAh becomes 26,800 x 3.85 / 1,000 = 103.2 Wh, over the line, and the largest capacity under 100 Wh at that voltage is about 25,970 mAh. Read the watt-hour figure printed on the bank rather than converting the milliamp-hours yourself. Singapore Airlines says outright that for approvals it will "not accept manufacturer claim from online marketing material", so a bank with no printed rating is a bank you may have to argue about.
The last row is the one that surprises vehicle campers. A portable power station of the kind covered in 12 volt power and camping fridges holds hundreds to over a thousand watt-hours. IATA's passenger guide says batteries over 160 Wh "must be prepared and carried as cargo". It does not fly with you, in either bag.
Is it a power bank or a spare battery?#
The two-bank cap applies to power banks, not to every battery in your kit, and that distinction decides how a hiker's battery pile is counted. IATA's passenger guide sets three separate allowances: up to 15 portable electronic devices, up to 20 spare batteries "of any type", and the power bank rules within the spares.
Applied to a typical backpacking kit, using IATA's "primary purpose" definition:
- A power bank, including a solar power bank whose job is charging other things: counts toward the two.
- A headlamp with a built-in battery: a device, because its primary purpose is light. Its battery is installed, so it counts toward the 15 devices, not the two banks. Our headlamp guide covers why many hikers carry one of each kind.
- Loose 18650 or 21700 cells for a headlamp, spare camera batteries, lithium AA cells: spare batteries. They go in carry-on with terminals protected and count toward 20, not toward the two.
- A satellite messenger, phone, watch or GPS: devices.
- A cell phone charging case: the FAA lists it with power banks as a spare battery, and its primary purpose is charging the phone. Count it as one of your two.
Qantas spells out the same structure: "No more than 20 spare batteries in total, for personal use, are permitted per passenger", with no more than two of those between 100 and 160 Wh. Lithium metal cells, the non-rechargeable kind, are limited by the FAA to 2 grams of lithium each.
How much energy can you still fly with?#
This is the question that decides whether the new cap matters for a trip, and the arithmetic is short. We use the two consumption models from the power bank sizing guide: disciplined use at 6.2 Wh a day (phone in airplane mode plus a headlamp) and the same kit with the phone radio left on at 14.2 Wh a day, with 85 percent of a bank's rated watt-hours reaching the device.
| What you fly with | Rated Wh | Delivered Wh (x 0.85) | Days at 6.2 Wh | Days at 14.2 Wh |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| One 26,800 mAh bank (the Emirates limit) | 99.2 | 84.3 | 13.6 | 5.9 |
| Two 26,800 mAh banks, no approval needed | 198.4 | 168.6 | 27.2 | 11.9 |
| Two 160 Wh banks, with airline approval | 320 | 272 | 43.9 | 19.2 |
The conclusion runs against the alarm in most coverage. For one person on a backpacking trip, two banks under 100 Wh hold roughly four weeks of careful use, and the trip is limited by the weight of the batteries long before the airline's count. The cap bites in three places only:
- A long trip with no resupply and heavy phone use. At 14.2 Wh a day, two banks run out on day 12. Solar, or a resupply point with a socket, closes the gap; solar for camping shows when a panel earns its weight.
- One person carrying power for a group. The limit is per person. Four people may carry eight banks between them; one person may carry two. Split the banks before you reach the airport.
- Anything built around a power station or a fridge. Over 160 Wh, it is a cargo shipment or a rental at the destination.
If your destination is cold, the bank you land with also loses capacity, and charging it in a freezing car or tent is the separate problem covered in charging lithium batteries below freezing.
What to do on the flight instead#
The practical effect of the new rules is that the flight is no longer a charging window. Plan around that:
- Land with full devices. Charge the phone, messenger and headlamp the night before and at the gate, not from the bank in the air.
- Use seat power where the aircraft has it. No rule on this page restricts charging a phone from the seat's own outlet or USB port; Cathay Pacific says it remains available. What Qantas and Cathay forbid is plugging the power bank into that socket.
- Put the phone in airplane mode. It is the same habit that halves a trail budget, and it costs nothing on board.
- Stow the bank where crew can reach it. Seat pocket or under the seat in front: Singapore Airlines, Qantas, Cathay Pacific and Emirates all say so, and all but Qantas name the overhead bin as the wrong place.
- Charge the banks at your destination before the trailhead, not on the plane, as you will have to on any of the four airlines above.
Check this before you fly#
You can run every check at home in ten minutes.
- Read the watt-hours printed on each bank. If there is only a milliamp-hour figure, multiply by the voltage printed beside it and divide by 1,000. Over 100 Wh means an approval request; over 160 Wh means it stays home.
- Count power banks per person, charging cases included. Two at most on any international flight, one on Emirates.
- Count spare batteries. Loose cells, camera batteries and lithium AAs together must not exceed 20 per person under IATA and Qantas limits.
- Protect the terminals. The FAA lists retail packaging, tape over the terminals, a battery case or sleeve, or a snug plastic bag. Do this for every loose cell.
- Check for swelling or damage. Lay the bank on a flat table: a case that rocks or bulges is a damaged battery, and the FAA forbids damaged or recalled batteries in either bag.
- Look up the operating airline for each leg, not the airline you booked with. A codeshare ticket can put you on a carrier with a stricter rule.
- Pack the banks at the top of the carry-on. If the bag is gate-checked, they have to come out.
Common mistakes#
Packing a power bank in the checked bag "because it is off". Being switched off makes no difference to a spare battery; the FAA, TSA, IATA and every airline here forbid it in checked baggage, and Qantas says banks found there "will be confiscated or disposed of at the airport".
Leaving the bank in a bag that gets gate-checked. The FAA's rule is explicit: when a carry-on is checked at the gate or planeside, power banks and spare batteries come out and stay in the cabin with you.
Assuming the TSA answer applies abroad. TSA rules on what passes the US checkpoint. The ICAO count and the airline's in-flight rule apply on the aircraft, and on an international flight they are stricter.
Plugging the bank into the seat USB port to top it up. That is the one action ICAO now prohibits outright, on every international flight.
Bringing three small banks instead of two large ones. Splitting capacity is good practice on the trail, but the count is per bank, not per watt-hour. Two 99 Wh banks fly; three 37 Wh banks do not, on any international flight.
Flying out with a power station for a car camping trip. Above 160 Wh it cannot be passenger baggage. Rent one at the destination, or plan the trip around what two banks can do.
Frequently asked questions#
Can I use my power bank to charge my phone on a plane?#
It depends on the airline. Since 27 March 2026 ICAO recommends against it, and Singapore Airlines, Qantas, Cathay Pacific and Emirates forbid it. On a US domestic flight the FAA sets no rule on using one, and Southwest allows it if the bank is out of any bag and in plain sight. Recharging the power bank itself on board is prohibited on international flights.
How many power banks can I take on a plane?#
Two per person on international flights, under the ICAO amendment applicable from 27 March 2026, and Emirates allows only one. The FAA's US domestic page sets no quantity limit for power banks up to 100 Wh, but allows only two between 101 and 160 Wh, with airline approval. Spare loose batteries are counted separately, up to 20 per person under IATA's passenger guidance.
Can you put a power bank in checked luggage?#
No. Power banks count as spare lithium batteries, and the FAA, TSA, IATA and every airline checked here require them to travel in the cabin only. If your carry-on is taken from you at the gate, remove the power bank first and keep it with you. Qantas says power banks found in checked baggage will be confiscated or disposed of.
Is a 20,000 mAh power bank allowed on a plane?#
Yes. At 3.7 volts a 20,000 mAh bank holds 74 Wh, comfortably under the 100 Wh threshold, so no airline approval is needed. It must travel in the cabin, and it counts as one of the two power banks international rules allow per person. Whether you may use it during the flight depends on the airline.
What is the largest power bank allowed on a plane?#
Without approval, 100 Wh, which is about 27,000 mAh at 3.7 volts; 26,800 mAh banks are 99.2 Wh. With the airline's approval, up to 160 Wh, two at most. Above 160 Wh a battery cannot travel as passenger baggage at all; IATA says it must go as cargo. Check the watt-hour figure printed on the bank, not the milliamp-hours.
Why did airlines ban using power banks on board?#
ICAO's bulletin cites "the need to manage increasing fire risks associated with lithium batteries in aircraft cabins". Southwest described its plain sight rule as a measure that lets crew respond more quickly to potential fires. Keeping banks out of bags and overhead bins means crew can see and reach one that overheats, which a bank buried in a bag above the seats does not allow.
Does a headlamp count as a power bank on a plane?#
Not under IATA's definition, which treats as a power bank anything whose primary purpose is powering another device. A headlamp with a built-in battery is a portable electronic device, counted toward the limit of 15 devices. Its loose spare cells are spare batteries, counted toward 20, carried in the cabin with terminals protected.
Standards, sources and further reading
- International Civil Aviation Organization, *Electronic Bulletin EB 2026/10, Amendment to the Technical Instructions for the Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air (Doc 9284) relating to power banks*, 7 April 2026, as hosted by the Croatian Civil Aviation Agency. Addendum No. 1 to the 2025-2026 Technical Instructions, applicable 27 March 2026: prohibits recharging power banks on board, limits each person to two, and recommends against using them to recharge devices on board.
- Federal Aviation Administration, *PackSafe: Lithium Batteries*, last updated 11 August 2026. Spare lithium batteries and power banks carry-on only, 100 Wh without approval, two of 101 to 160 Wh with airline approval, no quantity limit for most batteries, terminal protection, removal from gate-checked bags, damaged and recalled batteries forbidden.
- Transportation Security Administration, *Power Banks*, What Can I Bring, last updated 14 May 2025. Carry-on yes, checked no.
- IATA, *Passengers travelling with lithium batteries*, revision 3, February 2019. The Wh bands, the 15 device and 20 spare battery limits, over 160 Wh as cargo only, and the definition of a power bank as a spare battery.
- IATA, Dangerous Goods Regulations, 68th edition, Table 2.3.A, *Dangerous Goods Requiring Operator Approval*, effective 1 January 2027. Spare lithium batteries of 100 to 160 Wh: maximum two, carry-on only, individually protected.
- Singapore Airlines, *Baggage restrictions*. Maximum two power banks, no usage or charging throughout the flight, not in overhead compartments, documentary UN 38.3 proof for 100 to 160 Wh approval.
- Qantas, *Spare batteries and power banks*. Two per person, each not exceeding 160 Wh, no use or charging in flight including via in-seat USB ports, no more than 20 spare batteries in total.
- Cathay Pacific, *Lithium batteries*. Maximum two power banks; under Hong Kong law no charging them from in-seat power and no using them to charge or power devices; not in overhead compartments; in-seat power remains available.
- Khaleej Times, *Why Emirates banned power banks*, on the Emirates rule effective 1 October 2025: one power bank under 100 Wh, no use or charging in flight, seat pocket or under the seat.
- OPB (NPR), *Southwest Airlines will require passengers to keep chargers visible due to fire risk*, 21 May 2025. Quotes Southwest's policy: a power bank in use "must be out of any baggage and remain in plain sight", effective 28 May 2025.
How this page is made. Every number here is either a published standard, a physical constant, or arithmetic we show in full so you can check it. Read our evaluation method and editorial standards, or tell us we got something wrong.
Last reviewed and updated 11 October 2026.